‘Johnstone’ bifacially worked leaf-point

leaf-point-2

This is a continuation of the previous post, in that after my success with the completely bifacially worked hollow based point I revisited some of my earlier attempts at leaf-points. Aesthetically I didn’t like them and so treated them as rough-outs, ready for reworking. This is one of the results. I have not been able to completely work either surface but I am happy with the relative form. Both faces illustrate an interesting phenomena. The cross section ‘should’ in an ideal world be lenticular, or lens like. This leaf-point approximately corresponds to this ideal, but is asymmetrical. If the photograph above is taken as the dorsal surface it can be seen how the invasive removals applied from the right hand side have penetrated further than those from the left. Consequently, in cross section the left upper section rises at a steep angle whilst the right is more shallow. If I flip it over in my hand exactly the same pattern is revealed on the dorsal face.leaf-point-1
It would therefore seem to be an artefact of how I work and turn the piece. So far so good. However, I have also observed this same phenomenon on archaeological examples of blade-points. I interpreted this asymmetry as indicative of repair or resharpening, when one side was addressed to bring the whole artefact back into form. This seemed to result in step fracturing on one side and that is exactly what I have produced on this ‘ventral’ face (see lower photograph) to the left of the dirty blue section of original surface. As well as being enjoyable to handle (hence the dirt), this piece has given me some food for thought regarding my understanding of production and repair signatures.

Leave a Reply

