Point to be hafted

DSC_1149

This is a point made yesterday. It is from a square sided broken glass vase and provided an opportunity to make a larger point. The shape and size are good but I am disappointed with the edges. I struggled to get a consistent edge without step fractures. I think this is because my soft hammer retouch is inconsistent. Pressure flaking worked well when I made good platforms and with glass I can now get flakes measuring up to 15mm. However, if I wanted to get rid of the step fractures I would have lost too much width. This is a good start, and I am going to pass it onto my friend, Joe Curley, to see how he approaches hafting it. Let’s see.

Leave a Reply

