Glass Kimberley Point number two.

Kimberley 2

This seemed to me to be an ideally shaped fragment of 6mm thick glass for my second attempt at a Kimberley Point. I experimented with my number 8 wire pressure flaker but realised quite quickly that for me it needs to be hafted so that I can generate enough useful pressure. Consequently I returned to my larger copper flaker for this piece. Akerman and Bindon (1995: 92) state: “Pressure flaking proceeds from prepared platforms and each successive series of flakes is taken along one margin and refines half of each face alternately“. Normally I would thin and shape the glass with an antler hammer so this was a new approach for me. It worked in a similar way to blade production in that each removal sets up the next. I struggled to shape it though and so used a small hard hammer to do so. Unfortunately this led to ‘end shock’ and the piece broke in half. I then had one half that was well flaked and so carried on with that. I realise this method of pressure flaking gives a lot more control over the edges, and I shaped by heavily abrading to create platforms, and then pressure flaked into the piece. Shape wise I followed an illustration in Akerman and Bindon (1995: 92 Fig 4. bottom row, number 5).

Kimberley 3

Generally it worked pretty well. It was not fully bifacially flaked but I know that with a little more experience that will come. I was more interested in getting the shape right and I am getting a feel for that now. According to Akerman and Bindon (1995: 89, 93) there are three variants of margin treatment:

  • Serrated with 6-8 teeth per 10mm;
  • Denticulate with teeth and notches of similar size and 2-3 teeth per 10mm;
  • Dentate with regularly space teeth separated by larger notches.

Based upon these criteria the above point can be classed as denticulate. I am pleased with this piece. Aesthetically it is not quite there but it allowed me to improve the edges and shape, and I worked fairly quickly. To follow this I can haft my number 8 wire and try using that, as well as really concentrate on increasing the depth of my pressure flaking. I am looking forward to making some aesthetic and technically correct examples.

Akerman, K. and Bindon, P., 1995. Dentate and Related Stone Biface Points from Northern Australia. The Beagle: Records of the Museums and Art Galleries of the Northern Territory, 12, pp.89-99.

Leave a Reply

