Bottle glass Kimberley Point

bottle glass dorsal

This is my best Kimberley Point yet. It is made from a side (and therefore curved) section of a beer bottle. I have followed the published methods more closely this time in that I used a small hard hammer stone to approximately shape the piece, and then heavy abrasion and pressure flaking to finish it. Finally, a small and narrow ‘watchmaker’s’ screwdriver was used to produce the serrations along the edge. I generally worked one edge and face at a time and some of my thinning flakes penetrated half way across the dorsal face. The shape is a little idiosyncratic and I like it like that. Because these points were hafted using a blob of resin they could be easily aligned to accommodate idiosyncrasy. It is 56mm long, 31mm wide and about 5mm thick and form wise is based approximately upon a published outline illustration (Akerman and Bindon 1995: 92 Fig 4. Bottom row number 4.). Because this was formed from the side section of a beer bottle managing the inner curve was a primary problem. Akerman and Bindon (1995: 93) state: “Broad examples produced from sections of glass bottles usually have relatively short scalar retouch on the concave face“. As can be seen below that is reflected on this piece. Because of the curve it is not possible (or desirable) to get long invasive flakes across the inner surface.

bottle glass ventral

So size, form and method of production are all consistent with published material and I like the aesthetic of this one. However, I am still using my copper pressure flaker, and so hafting my no.8 wire will improve things. Also, there is an aboriginal method of dividing a bottle using heated wire. I want to try this and today ordered Over the Range by Ion Idriess in which he outlines exactly how this process works (pages 59-62). Next Wednesday Elizabeth Healey and myself are going to the Manchester Museum to examine the collection of six or so glass and stone Kimberley Points. I am looking forward to seeing first hand how an indigenous knapper has dealt with these same problems.

Leave a Reply

