The point of today

first pass

This is the first series of removals from a 7mm fragment of plate glass from Chorlton Ees. After doing the same on the other side I used a hard hammer to get it into shape, my large pressure flaker to thin it and then the small flaker to finish it. The no.8 wire was used to put in the notches. It is 81mm long, 30mm wide and (still) 7mm thick.

finished-point.jpg

Karl Lee is coming to Manchester tomorrow. I showed him a photograph of this tonight and he is going to show me how to prepare my platforms so that I can get flakes that travel right across. Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

